img_9902

I’ve purchased several different types of stackers because the boys had little interest. Yes, call me the crazy and persistent mom. Commercial, wooden… you name it. This was a desperate attempt and I’m glad I didn’t give up.

I never would have expected my last attempt using a recycled paper towel holder, napkin rings and bracelet could yield unexpected and surprising outcomes. My oldest twin seemed to enjoy the motion of sliding each bracelet up the holder while my youngest whom is oral, enjoyed the various textures. This task required patience, which in true Donald form, is nonexistent. His frustration stemmed from wanting the bracelet at the very bottom. Who knew a life lesson to work for something we want comes with patience and diligence could be indirectly taught to toddlers.

While only 4 minutes apart, I’m reminded daily how completely different they are and how development will unfold on their own accord. I’m also reminded on the importance of variation and repetition. We’ve been working up to this point for weeks. It took some tries. Earlier attempts were using a wooden base I pilfered from another toy with wooden curtain rings I found from the thrift store.

My attempts involved sometimes displaying the bracelets in a circle around the base.

img_9655

This morning I found additional bracelets to add to our stacking work. When I practiced the work, the different textures, weight and overall feel of each bracelet added an unexpected sensory experience. The circumference of each bracelet also added a different challenge and element to the work requiring greater concentration and control of the hand. I’m reminded of the importance of trying the work out ourselves. By trying to understand the experiences gained by the child, it allows us insight into what the child gains by his/her experiences and piece together the elements that calls to them in the work/activity.

 

img_9861

 

If you’ve hit a road block keep going. Get creative. Try it yourself! The outcome will yield surprising results for everyone! And, lastly, please have patience. I’m persistent in my efforts, but I always let me boys lead the way. In due time, our children will reveal themselves.

Thank you for stopping in!

 

img_9871